This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

No rice, no pasta, just cabbage

4 Comments

Really.  Now, I know I’m not the first person you’re going to want to take weight loss advice from.  It’s not like I’ve got any huge success under my belt.  What is huge under my belt is my belly not success.  But I have a couple tips for you.

First, a newly discovered fabulous tip.  It’s cabbage.  Cole slaw, actually. Well, not actual cole slaw with the sweet dressing and stuff.  But the cole slaw mix you can buy in the produce section.  Sliced cabbage and carrots, in a bag.  Seriously.  It’s a life saver.  Zero points.  That’s right, zero points.  Since one tiny little serving of rice or pasta has 4 or 5 points, this is infinitely fewer.  I like to saute veggies like onions, bell peppers, celery, mushrooms, tomatoes, zucchini, yellow squash, whatever, throw a cup of rice in and then matching spices.  Sometimes I add chicken or edamame for protein.  With rice, I tend to use soy sauce, sometimes a dash or two of Frank’s Hot Sauce.  With pasta, just garlic or more tomatoes.  Then I like a little feta or maybe parmesan cheese.  Both cheeses offer a big bang of flavor for just a couple WW points.

Second, forget what you’ve heard about the smaller plate business!  I know, I know, smaller plate means smaller portions, trick yourself into thinking you’ve had a bigger meal.  I say fill a BIG bowl full of zero point veggies and eat until you really feel like you’ve had a meal.  Now, THIS is where the first tip really pays off.  I chopped sauteed half an onion and five large mushrooms, then browned one crumbled turkey sausage link, added half a red bell pepper and one zucchini, and two cups of cole slaw mix.  Covered and let the cabbage, zucchini, and pepper just get heated through, but keep their crunch.  Tossed in a couple of halved grape tomatoes.  Top with one ounce of parmesan.  It takes a big old pasta bowl to contain that meal.  It’s delicious, and it’s SEVEN points.  That’s right SEVEN WW points.

I meant to take a picture, but the battery on my camera needs charging and I was too hungry to wait.  You’ll have to take my word for it that it was as pretty as it was delicious.

Now, on another completely unrelated note, Baby Bird, who turned three in February, seems to have finally given up his nighttime obsession with the Binky.  This is night four, and while he still needs some convincing each night at bedtime, he sleeps well all night long without it.  Unfortunately, we’ve still made no progress with the potty training thing.

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

4 thoughts on “No rice, no pasta, just cabbage

  1. I, too, am the least likely person to leave diet advice, but then maybe not! I’ve been doing it all my life, just not very successfully! But have you tried a Spaghetti squash? When I really feel like pasta, I’ll cut a spaghetti squash in half, put it flat down on a microwave safe plate with just a tad of water in the bottom and cook until you can shred the ‘meat’ with a fork. Add pasta sauce or even just that mixture you made without the cabbage (anything really), and it’s a really tasty pasta substitute that once again is zero calories for the squash itself!.

  2. Sounds delicious. Also, count your blessings. It took Will two years to sleep through the night after giving up his nighttime binky at age 3. I am not exaggerating.

Leave a Reply

