This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

BACON!

4 Comments

close-up-nourriture- baconThat got your attention, didn’t it?

Oh, yes, I love bacon.  I REALLY love bacon.  I’m not sure I trust someone who doesn’t love bacon (religious observance exemptions, of course).  But bacon, as much as I love it, is not worth the points.  It takes several pieces to make me happy once I start eating it, and I don’t want to blow six WW points on bacon.  PLUS, I really like it sort of under cooked and not too crisp.  Mmmm, but that’s even more fat and points, so I must say no.  But the family still loves bacon.  Nothing makes my family happier on a Saturday morning than when I cook up a whole pound of the stuff and serve them eggs and/or pancakes with it.  So, I can EAT bacon with my family, or I can cook it and NOT eat bacon with my family, or I can not BUY the bacon and no one eats it.  Today, I made the bacon and did NOT eat it.  I’m so excited, and nearly high on this accomplishment.  I enjoyed the smell, and the smiles, but I did not eat any.  And it’s best that way, because one bite leads to one strip, to two, to three, you get the idea.  And don’t worry, the four of them did not polish off an entire pound of bacon.  There are several pieces left to put on Daddy Bird’s bagel sandwiches in his lunches this week.

Now to figure out how I’m going to skip all food until I meet with my girlfriends tonight to have wine and cheese.  More things I love that aren’t always worth the points, but tonight, I will splurge.  Okay, okay, I’ll eat some veggies at lunchtime!

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

4 thoughts on “BACON!

  1. I love bacon too but I gave it up over two decades ago when I became a vegetarian. 🙂

  2. I know exactly where you’re coming from but for me, it’s sweets. Chocolate, cake, cookies, those are my bacon… I’m trying not to think about them. Good for you for not eating it, I said no to chocolate last night but it wasn’t GOOD chocolate. Sounds like you had GOOD bacon and therefore you are my hero.

  3. What about turkey or chicken bacon…not, of course, as good as the real thing, but much lower in calories?

Leave a Reply

