This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

I’m baaaaaack….

3 Comments

Okay, so I want to get back into the swing of this blogging thing.  I’ve been between classes for over a month now, and I haven’t done much of anything that I’d hoped to do during this break!  I was going to tell you all sorts of things.  I was going to paint the baseboards.  I was going to redo the kids’ bathroom.

DSC_0172What have I been up to?  Well, I sorted out all of our winter and summer clothes.  Doesn’t sound like much, does it, but I started the process way back here on April 4th.  That was just the beginning.  Then the keep stuff has to get packed up again.  THEN, the closets and drawers in our rooms have to be cleaned out.  Winter stuff gets removed, summer stuff stowed.  And all the while they keep WEARING clothes and putting them down the laundry chute, so the whole laundry process must continue.  I’ve also started sorting out the other junk in the basement and gotten rid of a couple old strollers, infant car seats, baby bathtubs, outgrown shoes, a crib mattress, and various other items that were just taking up space in our very limited storage area.  So, there’s all that.

I’ve continued to put energy into this weight loss thing.  Sometimes it’s only mental energy, but that’s something.  I completely blew off the tracking thing from Thursday to Sunday this week.  I could give you my entire justification process, but as I know that it is just that, justification, I won’t bore you with it.  I was sure that when I stepped on the scale today I would be lucky to have maintained.  Nope, I lost 2.4 pounds.  It’s true, I didn’t go crazy over the weekend, other than maybe some extra bread here and there that was totally unnecessary.  We had a lovely lunch at Bravo! after church yesterday with my parents and an old and dear friend visiting from out of town.  I enjoyed a couple pieces of bread and a glass or two of wine, but I did order from the “lighter” menu and avoided the heavy pasta.  I thought it might be enough to keep me from packing on a couple of pounds.  I’m guessing that even if I’m good this week, I’ll find myself holding steady next Monday.  I’ve made peace with that, so we’ll just be good and move on.

Today, I’m glad for my Monday morning respite.  I should go take a shower, but I probably won’t.  I am too jealous of the opportunity to sit at the computer and write or surf with no interruptions.  I can pin the Baby Bird into the family room with a favorite TV show and get 24 minutes to go take a shower.  I almost never get an entire hour, almost two, to just sit at the table in front of the keyboard.  Monday mornings are a rarity.  Except, I could go see if there’s that sweater on sale at Old Navy that I wanted.  Maybe in a minute.

Summer is going to be crazy.  I start my classes the first week or so in June, and the big kids will be busy with softball and baseball.  The calendar is filling up and I’m a little nervous.  I’m glad it’s only going to be six weeks or so of chaos and I’m looking forward to those two weeks in August where everything is over and school hasn’t started yet.  I can’t believe I’m going to have a 3rd and 4th grader!  That’s nuts!

Okay, now it feels like I’m just rambling, so I’ll wrap it up.  Maybe I’ll pop back in this afternoon.

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

3 thoughts on “I’m baaaaaack….

  1. It is nice to know that I am not the only one who feels like they aren’t really accomplishing anything.

    • Love it! So glad to spend time with you and your family. Love you ALL! MJ

      • I’m so glad you were here, MaryJo! We don’t get to see you often enough! I’ll keep working on Chad for next winter. I think you actually accomplished a lot with your little nudge on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

