This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

Another weekend…

Leave a comment

Daddy Bird took Middle Bird on a scout overnight tonight.  They’ve been gone since 9:30 this morning and won’t be back until tomorrow afternoon.  I hope they had a blast.  We spent the day running Girlie to her various activities.  I do not have over scheduled kids.  I am not interested in over scheduling my kids because I don’t think it’s good for them but also because I have no interest in being chauffeur to over scheduled kids.  But right now, Girlie Bird is doing more extra curricular activities than ever before.  She’s a Brownie (though, thankfully, I will no longer be her leader when they bridge to Juniors on Monday!), she’s taking piano, acting lessons, and she is starting her second year of softball.  That’s a lot for us.  Middle Bird is a Cub Scout, and he’ll be playing baseball this summer, too.  It’s a little daunting to look at the calendar, but that’s okay.  We’ll be okay.  But today, Girlie should have had softball clinic at 10:00, had I not forgotten about it only to remember in time to swing by and apologize for not remembering.  Then we headed to Target to pick up a birthday gift.  On to acting class downtown at the Columbus Children’s Theatre.  After acting, back home for a bite to eat, then on to the birthday party.  At least they fed her dinner there!

Baby Bird and I blew those two hours of acting class checking out the new Whole Foods store.  Funny, you can’t get a juice box in that place with your sandwich.  As I mentioned on Facebook, if you want to get dirty looks, speak just a little too loudly and say, “Let’s just go, baby. McDonald’s has juice boxes” in Whole Foods.  You would have thought I’d whipped out some pesticides and started spraying them on the organic olive bar.  It was madness.  They had every kind of flavored bottled green tea you can imagine, but apple juice in a container suitable for a preschooler?  Even organic apple juice in something with a straw?  Nope.  Silly me.  Guess I should have been lugging around my own BPA free bottle to dump some kind of organic juice into?  I don’t know, but it was laughable.  We DID drive to McDonald’s and the juice box was only a dollar.

So, now I’m home and it’s such a pleasant evening.  The little guy is in bed, and the Girl will be shortly.  I should scurry around and try to catch up on housework, but I’m not gonna.  I’m going to do something I haven’t done in AGES!  I’m going to iron my clothes for church tomorrow, take a shower, and THEN, then I’m going to curl up with a BOOK!  And read until I fall asleep.  Yes.  A book.  A real, paperback.  Shocking, I know.

Goodnight, gentle readers.

 

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

Leave a Reply

