This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

Some MORE things

Leave a comment

40 years ago. I needed bangs even back then!

40 years ago. I needed bangs even back then!

Tomorrow, well, probably today by the time you read this, is my birthday. I am twenty one. Again. Not like some people say they’re turning twenty nine again because they never want to turn thirty, but like I’ve lived twenty one years, twice. Forty two. Eh, not usually considered a milestone birthday, but when I realized that my twenty first birthday was exactly HALF of my life ago, suddenly forty two seemed like a HUGE milestone.

142KLYou know what I haven’t written about in ages, right? Yeah, that weight loss thing. Turns out I don’t seem to be very good at watching my weight while I’m actually in school. Good thing I only have about three weeks to go this semester. But then it will be the holidays, so that should be easy, right? Eh, I’ll get on it. That’s not why I bring it up right now. I just want to acknowledge that I’m not ignoring it. I’m still fat, and I’m still concerned about it.

v65oai7fxn47qv9nectxI have really enjoyed watching the twitterstorm about Dr. Lee’s blog post that was removed from Scientific American’s site. I could go on about my thoughts on this, but there’s not a lot of point in that. I’m not a scientist, I’m an amateur blogger at best, I’m certainly not a person of color, but I AM a woman, and all I need to say is that this has been interesting to watch.

imagesGirlie is entering a poem in the PTA’s Reflections contest tomorrow. I think it’s brilliant, she wrote it all by herself, but I’m honestly worried that people won’t believe it. I might be biased, but it’s a really, REALLY great idea/concept for a poem. I worked REALLY hard to give her feedback as she worked it out but to never give her “help.” It’s all her work, but it was HARD not to take her great idea and write my own poem! It’s just such a good concept. I didn’t do it. I didn’t write hers, and I won’t even write my own, but it IS a great idea. After they announce the winners, I’ll share her poem. Just seems like I should wait. Okay, okay, a tease. The title is “The Pencil.”

 

 

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

Leave a Reply

