This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

My daughter, the poet

Leave a comment

Ever think about all the things you can do with a pencil? Girlie did. The PTA Reflections contest theme this year is “Believe, Dream, Inspire.” My girl took that and wrote a poem. She won first place for 3rd and 4th grade Literature for her school. She goes to district from here. She thinks she’s going to win the national contest. I don’t know about that, but I know it’s the best poem I’ve ever read by a nine-year-old. Now that the school winners have been announced, I feel like we can share it. I think it’s amazing. Don’t you?images

The Pencil

A pencil, to me, is like the root system of a tree.
By inspiring me to write about anything and everything.
Helping me to draw a hero and their deeds.
Always believe, no matter how dark the future seems,
That with a pencil you can be anyone you want to be.
Did you ever consider how much a pencil really holds?
More than just a thread of wood, rubber, graphite, or lead.
It can be a singer, belting out beautiful things
but, this work of art can freak everybody out.
How it works magic in the hands of a famous novelist, or a
mathematician, or just a third grader. Or me!
Leonardo da Vinci or a college kid looking for a degree in art.
The Freedom Towers’ blueprint or a dollhouse’s.
Scientific data recording! Graphs! This poem!
The world would be dark and bleak without any pencils.
A pencil can be everything you want it to be,
that’s part of how it inspires me.
I believe in the pencil.
Use your power and find one.

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

Leave a Reply

