This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

Monday, Monday, So Good To Me!

Leave a comment

The most peaceful hour of my week, after everyone leaves on Monday morning. Coffee is still hot, there isn’t a TV, video game, or radio playing. The only sound is the refrigerator cycling on and off, a clock ticking, and my typing. Bliss.

So, the apple fig butter. It was FABULOUS! I mean, so, so good! The recipe is so simple. Apples (recipe said 6, but I used 8 small Jonathons), 20 dried figs with stems removed and cut in half, one cup apple cider, 1/2 cup honey, 3 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. Mix it all up in a crock pot, cook for 6-8 hours, process in batches in a food processor. DONE! Now I’ve got to figure out how to can things properly, and I think I’ve figured out my Christmas gifts this year! I should probably find some non-bread type stuff to spread this delicious concoction on, too. Mixed it up in Girlie’s oatmeal this morning and she practically licked the bowl. Of course the boys won’t even taste it, but they don’t know what’s good. As I type, I am enjoying sprouted wheat toast with almond butter and this yummy sweet stuff on top. I am in heaven. I’ve also whipped up some coffee with coconut oil, Irish butter, and just a touch of agave nectar. I feel like I’ve actually stepped into decadence. I’m also feeling fueled to make it to lunch! Not totally paleo, by any means, but surely REAL FOOD!

20141103_091952I roasted my chicken on Saturday, only to have Grandma’s old Pyrex dish crack clean through about 15 minutes short of full cook time. Suddenly there was a great deal of smoke pouring out of the oven as the juices spilled onto the oven floor. I had planned to try my hand at zucchini noodles using the spiral slicer I finally bought, but the oven was out of commission. And good thing I wasn’t planning to actually serve roast chicken for dinner, because it was not completely done when I took it out. Eh, no matter. Let it cool, took the meat off and bagged it. It will all be used in recipes and finish cooking then. Mostly I just wanted to get the carcass on to simmer for broth. Now that cold weather is upon us, I’m feeling the need for soups, and I needed to restock my broth supply! Cleaned the oven that night and zucchini noodles are on the menu for tonight. Now, I have seven quart jars cooling on the counter that have been simmering since Saturday evening. Delicious. I actually think I might do a second chicken this week. You can’t have too much broth on hand.

Time to start the laundry, head to Meijer, generally start getting things done. Tomorrow is Election Day, YAY! The kids are out of school for Election Day, BOO! Probably won’t get much accomplished tomorrow, but I’m on a good run with this daily blogging thing, so I’ll do that, at least.

 

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

Leave a Reply

