This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

Afternoon Delight (It’s just a cup of coffee)

2 Comments

Election Day! I voted and I hope you did, too. Even if you voted for one of the nut cases out there, even if you voted for one of the candidates that I think should not be allowed to vote, much less run things, I still hope you voted! The system only works when we engage it. It ain’t perfect, by a long shot, but it’s the best out there, and we only improve it by participating in it.

Yada, yada, yada, right? Anybody who is likely to be reading this has likely accepted that voting is an important right and responsibility in this country. I do occasionally have readers from other countries, but I’m guessing they’re aware of how much the right to vote means to most Americans. Yeah, there are a bunch of us who DON’T get it, but that’s why we keep saying it. GO VOTE!

Enough of that. On to other things.

wpid-20141104_160338-1.jpgSomething else you probably already know about if you’re reading. Butter in my coffee. I mentioned it yesterday morning. I am in love with this stuff. I finally broke down and purchased Irish, grass-fed butter to go with my unrefined organic coconut oil, and dash of organic agave nectar. Dump it all in the coffee, dunk the immersion blender for a few seconds, and BAM! Magic elixir. Super stuff! I find that I have excellent energy for 4-6 hours, and it tastes fabulous. I’ve read all sorts of things about this concoction, and maybe some of it is crap, but supposedly, I’m telling my body to burn fat for energy, and that CAN’T be a bad thing. A cup in the morning and a cup in the mid-afternoon, and I can get through just about everything. Most of the time I don’t bother in the morning. Since the Great Paleo Experiment of 2014, I’ve learned to drink my coffee black and I even enjoy it that way. But that afternoon pick-me-up is a God send on some days. Facing “the witching hour” when dinner must be prepared, homework completed, one more load of laundry folded, kitchen cleaned, children bathed and bedded, gets a lot easier with just one mug of that stuff. If you haven’t tried it, well, you should. And when you’re looking for the perfect container to mix this stuff in, I’ll save you the trouble. It’s a quart sized canning jar. Not the wide mouthed kind, just the regular mouth. Perfect.

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

2 thoughts on “Afternoon Delight (It’s just a cup of coffee)

  1. Okay I *still* haven’t tried bullet-proof coffee, even though I keep meaning to. Your testimonial is certainly persuasive. Maybe this is the first thing I should do with my brand-new immersion blender!

Leave a Reply

