This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

This week

2 Comments

Yesterday I went off on a bit of a rant. Sorry about that. I’ve been brooding over this Mommy Wars thing all week. Not so much the thing itself, but the discussions around it. Seems I just rambled and confused the few who read it. My apologies.

Let’s catch up around here, shall we?

This is the week that my husband joins his dad and uncle off in the frozen north for a few days of deer hunting. It’s not exactly great hunting land, he’s gotten exactly one deer in the nearly 20 years he’s been going, but it’s a bonding experience. It’s tradition. It’s just what they do.

This is my annual solo parenting week. It’s weird, but I don’t hate it. I am in awe of the single parents I know. I’m amazed at the parents whose partners travel regularly. But since it’s mostly just this one week, well, eight days, actually, I can take it. I almost look forward to it. Not that I don’t miss it, but there are some pluses.

I get a lot done, most years, anyway. I always have grand plans for getting the house cleaned and some years I actually do. This year has proven to be pretty unproductive so far, but I did have that eight page paper to crank out. I’m planning to haul as much away from the basement as I can tomorrow, but the weather may not cooperate.

wpid-20141116_212428-2.jpgI allow myself one late night meal of delivery garbage food each year. Tonight is the night! I just ordered an Italian sub and half a dozen boneless hot wings. I poured a neat bourbon and here I sit awaiting delivery. No, it’s not good for me. No, I don’t need it. Yes, I am going to enjoy every crumb.I’ll probably have ridiculous heartburn at 3:00 a.m. but I’m willing to risk it.

The kids really do miss their daddy, and that’s good for everyone. We all need a break from each other once in a while. They remember how much Daddy really does love them when he’s gone like this. They will be really glad to see him come home.

I got my paper done. Next, and last of the semester, paper due in two weeks. Then I gear up for Spring 2015, which, by all accounts, is going to kick my butt! Cataloging I and Intro to Digital Preservation, both at the same time. I was warned to take them alone, but I can’t swing it without adding a year onto this whole endeavor. Better to plunge in and get it done. Then I’ve got to figure out a practicum for summer, and there’s just one class to take in the fall. Then I’ll be DONE!

My food is here, you will have to excuse me. I’ll be back, of course, tomorrow. Good night.

 

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

2 thoughts on “This week

  1. How were your sub and wings?

Leave a Reply

