This Bird Does It

Librarian ramblings

Doldrums…

Leave a comment

I was so looking forward to these weeks between the kids going back to school and the start of my fall (and final) class. I was going to get so much done. I love fall, and when would it be better to tap my productive side than when the weather is changing and the leaves are turning? Maybe I still will, but the kids have been back in school for two weeks now, and I’m just not feeling it.

I get up every day and bust my butt getting three kids ready and out the door. The husband gets off to work and I start my day. I move all day. I do laundry, I cook meals, I shop for groceries, I run errands, but at the end of the day, it never feels like I got anything done. And to add insult to injury, it’s HOT! So, freakin’ hot! If you know me at all, you know, I don’t do hot. There are NINETIES in the seven day forecast. This is not FALL! There is no autumn here.

Okay, to be fair, it’s only September 3rd. I get it. And my Southern friends will be waiting a lot longer to find a nip in the air. Still, I’m ready. I’m SO ready. The highs are forecast in the low 90s and high 80s for at least another week. I know I can hang in there, but my few weeks as a stay-at-home mom with no job and no classes are slipping away. I need my FALL NOW!

Hopefully, this weekend is my last Labor Day weekend before I actually reenter the labor force. I don’t know what I’ll be doing, but I have every reason to believe I’ll be employed in some manner by next Labor Day. That seems like a milestone, right?

So, the push of grad school and internship is sort of past, and the push of finding a job has not fully kicked in. I want to give my all to this whole Homemaker thing, but eh, it’s hot, I’m tired, and I’m just not finding the motivation. I will. There are still a couple weeks before my class starts, and even when it does, it’s just one class. Just not feelin’ it this weekend.

Author: tenoclockbird

Just another mommy/student/librarian wannabe writing a blog.

Leave a Reply

